Euro-Mediterranean Partnership

There are different bilateral Agreements with Third Party Countries of the Mediterranean. Currently, Italy has the following navigation agreements: with Albania, Algeria, Azerbaijan, Cyprus, Egypt, Greece, Lebanon, Libya (non-ratified), Morocco, Mauritania, Syria, Tunisia (in progress), Turkey (in progress); with Serbia and Montenegro (in reason of the Trade and Navigation Agreement signed with the ex Social Federal Republic of Yugoslavia); with Ukraine and Russia in the Black Sea Region.

GTMO (Group of Transports Ministers of the Western Mediterranean) 5+5. Established in 1995, it aims to create a context based on negotiations and cooperation to develop the infrastructures, transports, logistics and training activity in the Western Mediterranean region and contribute to the Euromed Mediterranean Partnership.

The members of the GTMO 5+5 are the Ministers of Transport of each States (10) of the geographic area of interest (Northern region of the Mediterranean Sea): Italy, France, Malta, Portugal and Spain, plus the Southern region of the Mediterranean Sea (Algeria, Libya, Morocco, Mauritania and Tunisia). Also, the DG MOVE, the General Secretariat of the Arab Maghreb Union (AMU), the Secretariat of the  UfM and the EIB are invited on a regular basis to attend different meetings as observers. Clearly, Italy should have a significant role within this group.

The Secretariat of the Group 5+5 is controlled by the CETMO, whose main objective is to help improving the transport solutions in Southern EU (Spain, Italy, France, Malta and Portugal) and Maghreb (Algeria, Libya, Mauritania and Tunisia), by conducting researches on infrastructures, traffic flows, transport laws in Western MED.

GTMO 5+5 Official Website

AMU – Arab Maghreb Union (political union composed of the 5 Great Maghreb Countries: Libya, Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, Mauritania).

ESCWA – Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia.

Ultimo aggiornamento al 19/04/2022